Cheryl Swanson, MA

  • Disability Management Consultant

    Cheryl Swanson has over 10 years of disability management experience and has designed, developed and delivered disability management and wellness training programs in private, academic and municipal settings. Cheryl holds a Master’s degree in Psychology and is a Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA) certified psychological health and safety advisor. She brings elements of her clinical psychology experience to her work.

    As a Disability Specialist, Cheryl was a lead contributor to the redesign of a case management strategy for a large disability insurer. She also has extensive experience auditing case management files and providing individual coaching for case managers.

    Cheryl is an experienced trainer. She has designed case management training programs and delivered these in person and remotely. She has also served as a resource for mental health-related absences and work accommodation; designed training programs for interviewing skills in case management; and designed and delivered wellness and resilience modules for employees.

    Cheryl believes that an effective disability management program is based on a prevention model that supports employees in remaining productive at work. She is committed to finding the best solutions for you by reviewing your disability management and return-to-work programs, and using this information to identify opportunities for improvement.

    Cheryl is passionate about empowering people for healthy workplaces. She develops, delivers and sources mental health related training for organizations; conducts workplace psychological health and safety assessments; and provides ongoing consultation for psychological health and safety.

    Cheryl’s professional affiliations include:

      • CMHA psychological health and safety advisor network
      • Canadian Psychological Association
      • Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association – Committee on Disability Insurance (2014-15)
      • Member, Claims Association of Manitoba (2006-14); President from 2010-12